Back Agreed on a phased model: tenants and landlords will share the CO2 price in the future

The CO2 price is to be understood as a climate tax on fuel, heating oil and natural gas. It is intended to help reduce climate-damaging carbon dioxide emissions. According to the traffic light coalition, tenants and landlords are to share these costs from January 01, 2023. The basis for this is the amount of CO2 emissions per square meter.

So far, millions of tenants have been paying the CO2 tax alone. That will change from 2023. The discussion about the distribution of the CO2 price has now ended with an agreement within the traffic light coalition. Accordingly, landlords should contribute to the costs in the future. A phased model for implementation is to be passed in the Bundestag today and will come into force on January 01, 2023.

Both tenants and landlords now have "incentives to save energy or to invest in energy efficiency," according to the FDP's housing policy spokesman, Daniel Föst. It is an important step to achieve the CO2 targets in the real estate sector.

A tiered model should apply to the distribution of costs. In the case of buildings with high CO2 emissions, landlords should bear 95% of the CO2 price, while tenants should bear the costs alone in the case of very low emissions. This means: the worse the energy balance of the building, the higher the landlord's share of the costs. An incentive to promote energetic renovations.

The CO2 price has been due on heating oil, natural gas, petrol or diesel since the beginning of 2021. Currently, the price per ton is 30 euros. In 2025, this should be 45 euros.

 

Sources:

https://www.n-tv.de/politik/Mieter-und-Vermieter-teilen-sich-kuenftig-CO2-Preis-article23706112.html

https://www.tagesspiegel.de/politik/aufteilung-der-co2-abgabe-regierungskoalition-legt-streit-uber-klimaabgabe-fur-wohngebaude-bei-8850100.html

https://www.focus.de/immobilien/wohnen/so-stark-entlastet-die-ampel-millionen-mieter-beim-co2-preis_id_179281391.html

MWW cost allocation CO2 price
10 / November / 2022
Owner, Tenant, Energy, Energy costs, General

More news

Happy Easter

MWW AG Happy Easter

We wish you a wonderful Easter time! Enjoy the celebration of spring to the fullest. The weather promises us sunshine…

Young people wanted from August 2024!

MWW trainee 1

We have been a training company for many years. This year we are once again giving two young people the chance to be really good...

We are looking for reinforcements at our headquarters!

MWW AG Customer Manager Leipzig

MWW AG is a real estate company operating throughout Germany with its headquarters in Leipzig. We specialize in the holistic management of residential…

Zurück Auf Stufenmodell geeinigt: Mieter und Vermieter teilen sich künftig CO2-Preis

Der CO2-Preis ist als eine Klimaabgabe auf Sprit, Heizöl und Erdgas zu verstehen. Sie soll helfen, den klimaschädlichen Kohlendioxid-Ausstoß zu reduzieren. Ab 01. Januar 2023 sollen sich nun, laut Ampel-Koalition, Mieter und Vermieter diese Kosten teilen. Grundlegend dafür ist die Höhe des CO2-Ausstoßes je Quadratmeter.

Bislang tragen Millionen Mieter die CO2-Abgabe allein. Das ändert sich ab 2023. Die Diskussion über die Verteilung des CO2-Preises wurde nun mit einer Einigung innerhalb der Ampel-Koalition beendet. Demnach sollen sich Vermieter zukünftig an den Kosten beteiligen. Bereits heute soll ein Stufenmodell zur Umsetzung im Bundestag verabschiedet werden und am 01. Januar 2023 in Kraft treten.

Sowohl Mieter als auch Vermieter hätten nun „Anreize, Energie zu sparen bzw. in Energieeffizienz zu investieren“, so der wohnungspolitische Sprecher der FDP, Daniel Föst. Es sei ein wichtiger Schritt, um die CO2-Ziele im Immobiliensektor zu erreichen.

Für die Kostenaufteilung soll ein Stufenmodell gelten. Bei Gebäuden mit einer hohen CO2-Emission sollen Vermieter 95% des CO2-Preises übernehmen, bei einem sehr geringen Ausstoß sollen dagegen die Mieter die Kosten allein tragen. Dies bedeutet: Je schlechter die Energiebilanz des Gebäudes, desto höher ist die Kostenbeteiligung des Vermieters. Ein Anreiz, energetische Sanierungen voranzutreiben.

Der CO2-Preis wird seit Anfang 2021 auf Heizöl, Erdgas, Benzin oder Diesel fällig. Aktuell beträgt der Preis pro Tonne 30 Euro. 2025 soll dieser bei 45 Euro liegen.

 

Quellen:

https://www.n-tv.de/politik/Mieter-und-Vermieter-teilen-sich-kuenftig-CO2-Preis-article23706112.html

https://www.tagesspiegel.de/politik/aufteilung-der-co2-abgabe-regierungskoalition-legt-streit-uber-klimaabgabe-fur-wohngebaude-bei-8850100.html

https://www.focus.de/immobilien/wohnen/so-stark-entlastet-die-ampel-millionen-mieter-beim-co2-preis_id_179281391.html

Weitere News

Jugendliche Verstärkung ab August 2024 gesucht!

MWW Azubi 1

Seit vielen Jahren sind wir Ausbildungsunternehmen. Auch in diesem Jahr geben wir zwei jungen Menschen die Chance, so richtig gut…

Wir suchen Verstärkung an unserem Hauptsitz!

MWW AG Kundenmanager Leipzig

Die MWW AG ist ein deutschlandweit agierendes Immobilienunternehmen mit Hauptsitz in Leipzig. Wir sind auf das ganzheitliche Management von Wohn-…

Frohe Weihnachten und einen guten Rutsch!

MWW AG Weihnachten

Wir wünschen Ihnen ein friedvolles und entspanntes Weihnachtsfest im Kreise Ihrer liebsten Menschen! Genießen Sie diese besinnliche Zeit und lassen…